What are the safest ways to make these cuts…?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JonW
    Established Member
    • Feb 2006

What are the safest ways to make these cuts…?

I’m new to the table saw. If I only had more time to play with it… Anyways, I’ve been making some cuts from somewhat large pieces. I can get the job done, but I really want to know the safest way to do these things. So to begin my safety lesson, how would you do either of these cuts? Let’s say we start with a 3/4" thick board that is 2 feet by 5 feet.

-Rip a 3 inch strip off the long side, so you get a 3 inch by 5 foot strip and a 1’ 9” x 5’ piece?

-Cross cut a 2 foot section so you end up with one piece that is 2’ x 2’ and another that is 2’ x 3’.

I have the lumber yard cut things down so that I can get them into my car (e.g., 2’ x 5’). And working with small pieces on the table saw is OK, per the manual. But I’m not too sure how to handle these larger pieces safely. Thanks!

-Jon
    Last edited by JonW; 04-25-2006, 04:14 PM.
  • offthemark
    Established Member
    • Jan 2004
    • Germantown, TN, USA.
    • BT3100

I can tell you how I would do it. I think for both, the biggest safety issue isn't how to setup the saw but the use of a guard, goggles, push sticks, etc.

For the rip, you need to know which measurement is critical. You have kerf so you can't turn 2' into 3" and 1'9". You get something like 1'9" and 2+15/16". So, decide which one is the critical measure. Assuming it's the 3", then I would set my rip fence exactly 3" from the right side of the blade (measuring from the tooth edge, not the center). You'll need a push stick for a cut this thin.

For the other, assuming you have a BT3, you could set it up on you SMT. Get the SMT perpindicular to the blade, clamp the wood in place, and push through. Because you hold the wood at the SMT clamp and not near the balde, it should be fairly safe.