• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Denco
    • Mar 2003
    • Coming soon: California
    • BT3100

Router Table w/Logic Controlled Motorized Lift

First time posting a project. I’m still a novice after all these years and was in way over my head, but after a long time, here’s my router table. The lift is motorized using a PLC controller and a 12VDC motor normally used for automatic car seats in Honda automobiles. The 120VAC to 12VDC conversion was accomplished using a computer power supply (supplies 10A max, more than I needed). Most of the wood I used was cheap wood from the big box stores or ugly scraps I had on-hand, so I painted it red, white, and blue and put clear coats over it.

Items that didn’t make it into the video for time sake were:

-Front panel is held on with rare earth magnets for easy removal and access to the router lift.

-Front panel is melamine so I can use a dry erase marker for notes (but probably never will).

-The logic is programmed so that the lift won’t work while the router is on. Also, the router won’t turn on if the lift is in motion. Safety.

-I design custom controls for a living, so the controls part was easy, the wood part was where the challenge was.

-I also designed controls that didn’t use a PLC, just switches just in case the PLC died and I couldn’t get another one (this one was a spare from the shop that had 1 bad input…..so I designed w/o using that input).

-The fence is based on the one Steve from woodworkingformeremortals.com built. It slides on the T-tracks mounted to the side of the table. The bottom of the fence plate where the knobs tighten is cut away so that I can loosen the knobs and lift the fence straight up and off the table when removing it for pin routing.

Here’s the video! Enjoy!
    I built this router table from scratch. It uses a Siemens Logo PLC to control the lift motor. The motor lift is based on a design I bought from ibuildit.ca. ...