• Show
Clear All
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

My Wood Storage Bin, of sorts

Well, this is not a storage "bin" but more of a storage room. Because we have "building codes" in this small town, I was told that I could add onto an existing storage unit but not "wall it in" with a closed wall without a permit. I chose to leave the wall open - for now. Maybe put up some visqueen sheets later.

I have soo much wood inside the storage house that I need for "storage" rather than wood, so says LOML, so I built this. I have been collecting the wood, 2X4s, ply and roofing for the past 18 months. About 4 weeks ago, I started building (on Saturdays only.)

I have a bin stand on the wall side in which a rack that is 18 inches wide and about 14 inches high for each cubby hole. This rack is 8 feet long.

To the outside of the cubby holes is a 16 in wide rack for plywood sheets. I have 19 sheets, mostly 3/4 but some 1/2 and a few 1/4. Most of these plywood sheets have been around since before my dad passed away in '96. Old, good quality ply.

On the side are shelf brackets and some 3/8 ply wood for shelves. I intend to stack short pieces on these shelves.

Above the rack is 10 inches of space that I will use to store wide boards 12 to 14 inch wide that have been in storage for years. Above that is space for longer boards, storage for 12ft boards.

The whole storage space is 7 ft wide by 16 ft long. In front of the "rack" I intend to put an 18 inch by 3ft vertical bin on wheels to hold scrap pieces.

I have quite a bit of Oak, Walnut, Cherry, plus cottonwood with figures and other woods that were my dad's. Now that I can get to it, I plan on using it in the future.

CLICK ON PICTS for Larger view.

Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!
  • chopnhack
    Veteran Member
    • Oct 2006
    • Florida
    • Ryobi BT3100