• Show
Clear All
  • x00018
    Forum Newbie
    • Mar 2006
    • Cranberry Twp, PA
    • Sears BT3000 Clone

Need help matching color

I have a kitchen cabinet door that is broken. I have all the tools to build a new one but I have no experience matching the stain color. Does anyone here know of a good book or article on the proper technique to do this?

Thanks
    Dave
  • DaveS
    • May 2003
    • Minneapolis,MN

When I needed to to this, I took a door into Home Depot, found a few colors that looked close (from looking at the sample boards they have hanging) - bought a small can of each, took it home and tested it out on some scraps from the same lumber batch I planned to use.

The main challenge is figuring out what they put on top of the stain (laquer, shellac, varnish, poly, etc.) and how much it has yellowed over the years.

Also, some woods (like Cherry) darken with age, and some finishes fade.

So, just my advice is just test, test, test until you find the right combo.

Comment

• cabinetman
      Gone but not Forgotten RIP
      • Jun 2006
      • So. Florida
      • Delta

You might first think about getting a color wheel. It shows what mixes will produce different shades. From there it's going to be trial and error. I would pick up small cans of oilbased stains that are within the range of the mixture. With a sample of the same material as the new door, do your mixes until you get very close. Whatever topcoat you plan on using should be applied to the sample once it has dried with the stain, as the final color will be dependent on all of the finish.

There are several ways to color wood that you can experiment from dyes, both water based and alcohol, water based stains, and tinting products. I'm suggesting oil base for starters because you can get a variety of colors in small amounts, and they have a long working time compared to other types.