• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Reboot
    Forum Newbie
    • Sep 2005
    • Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Plans for Insulated dog house (beagle)

At my wifes place of work, there is a stray dog that comes around. Well they have been feeding and looking after him. I guess you could say that they sort of adopted him. They asked me if I would donate my time and build an insulated dog house for him. I am just getting into woodworking and need plans to do a good job (I am donating my time to do this). If someone has a set of plans they could donate, it would be appreciated. Would like to build something that would keep him healthy and warm (the winters get pretty cold). Tks in advance.
  • TimInChicago
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2005
    • Chicago, IL, USA.

Reboot, it sounds like your heart is in the right place but I'm afraid I don't have any plans to help you out. However, this is a topic that I have some passion around so I wanted to reply and ask you to please consider contacting a rescue organization so that your wife's new friend can have a proper home.

I've done some research for your area and while I was not able to find a specific Beagle rescue in Nova Scotia, there is a Canada Beagle rescue group that can probably help out...

http://www.beaglepaws.com/

We adopted our Beagle from a rescue here in the states called BREW Beagles - a great group. We think he was a rural dog, probably on a farm or raised for hunting, but is adapting to city life well. If not for BREW, he was two days away from being put down... and he is the perfect pet so it would have been an awful shame. We also live in cold climate in the winter, although probably not as cold, and in my opinion, Beagles should be inside where it is warm.