X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gary
    • May 2004
    • Versailles, KY, USA.

Steel Miter Slots

I want to replace the aluminum miter slots on by BT with steel miter slots. Does anybody know of a company selling steel miter slots I can use to make my own MSTs? The aluminum MST is too soft and getting chewed up by my Incra miter sliders which must be harder grade of aluminum than the MST..
    Gary
  • JSCOOK
    • Sep 2006
    • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    • Ryobi BT3100-1

Hmmm ... good thought ... I have access to several machine shops as I'm a manufacturing engineer ... I'll sketch something up and get it quoted just to see what it would cost to get made, as I have a few Mom & Pop shops which have been really cheap for other stuff ... quantity is going to be the key here to the price ... once I find out, I'll post the results ...

One (1) or Two (2) Slots in the steel mitre table??? (will have impact on cost)

And hey, we could actually use some of those magnetic hold down then as well ...
    Last edited by JSCOOK; 12-24-2006, 10:11 AM.
    "Experience: that most brutal of teachers. But you learn, my God do you learn". by C.S. Lewis

Comment

• lcm1947
      Veteran Member
      • Sep 2004
      • Austin, Texas
      • BT 3100-1

A very timely post for me as I was minutes away from buying the Incra miter gauge from WoodCraft when it opens this morning. Bummer.
      May you die and go to heaven before the Devil knows you're dead. My Best, Mac

Comment

• eddy merckx
        Established Member
        • Mar 2006
        • Western WA
        • Shop Fox Cabinet

Sign me up for some steel miter slots! That is the major source of my cast iron top envy. My standard miter gauge is really sloppy in my BT3 double miter slot. I don't want to raise the surface of the miter gauge with a punch because I'm afraid it will tear the sides of the aluminum miter slot. Maybe I'm wrong about that.

Not sure what the reasoning behind a double miter slot is.

Eddy