This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • summilux

BT3100 vs a bandsaw

I’ve been using a Ryobi RA200 radial arm saw for rips and crosscuts for some time now in my home shop (router table, drill press, Ryobi jointer and planer). Now that the RA200 has been recalled and headed for the Ryobi junk yard, I am going to buy a sliding miter saw for crosscutting . I now need something for ripping. My budget dictates one of two choices: a new BT3100 ($399 Cdn at HD) or a used quality bandsaw with a good ripping fence.

I realize that if I go the bandsaw route, I am giving up ripping capacity for curve cutting and resaw. This trade-off seems reasonable because I usually get the shop to mill plywood to size anyway and most of my work doesn’t require big ripping capacity.

The only thing I worry about is the ability of a bandsaw to accurately rip things. I’ve never used one for ripping before and I am worried about blade drift. Admittedly, the radial arm saw was no precision machine for ripping, but will a properly set up and fenced bandsaw cut as accurately as a BT3100? Anyone with both a bandsaw and a BT3100 care to comment?

Thanks

Jonathan
  • JR
    The Full Monte
    • Feb 2004
    • Eugene, OR
    • BT3000

My bandsaw does not rip as accurately as my BT3100. Then again, I've never really tried to set it up for that level of performance.

The bandsaw advocates claim you can get that level of accuracy. It takes an adjustable fence and some fiddling to get there, though. I certainly can't fault the logic, as a bandsaw is an extremely versatile tool, particularly if coupled with a good SCMS.

You'd want to make sure to get good blades (the OEM one will not be good) and a good fence. The Grizzly G555 comes with a fence which is said to be good. Alternatively the Iturra one seems to be the standard for aftermarket fences, should you choose a different BS.

JR
    JR

Comment

• tropicaffair
      Forum Newbie
      • Dec 2003
      • Gloucester, MA, USA.