• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • alexy
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2005
    • Atlanta, GA.

Dust Collector versus shop vac

I'm a relative newbie with my BT3100. Great machine for the money!

I've hooked mine into my DC system, with a 2-1/2 stepdown at the machine. But reading Bill Pentz's excellent site on dust collection, I wonder if a shop vac (with good filters so it is not just a dust blower!) would give me better dust collection results. Here's what Pentz says in response to a question about the need for a shop vac when you have a good DC system (and I have a DC system, but not one that Pentz would call good<g&gt: http://billpentz.com/woodworking/cyclone/Equipment.cfm
    quote:Most of us continue to need a good shop vacuum even after getting a big dust collector because a vacuum is the only way we can get enough pressure to pull the air we need for good fine dust collection through our smaller machine ports and restrictive internal machine ducting. Air at the low pressures generated by our dust collectors is virtually incompressible, so just like a water valve, any small opening acts like a partially closed valve and kills the airflow we need for good fine dust collection. This leaves our dust collectors pretty much worthless with any port connection smaller than about 3” because we get no air movement. To get the needed air movement for good chip collection at our smaller tool ports, we need to use a vacuum.
    This makes intuitive sense--the shop vac with its much greater suction can get more airflow out of a small port even though it can't begin to match a DC's airflow from larger ports. Anyone who has tried both be willing to share their experiences? Anyone tried modifying the outlet from the BT to open it up to 4" (not just step it up after the restricted outlet)?
  • L. D. Jeffries
    • Dec 2005
    • Russell, NY, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000