• Show
Clear All
  • crokett
    The Full Monte
    • Jan 2003
    • Mebane, NC, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

Businesses That Don't Want Mine

So sometime in the next few weeks I will be replacing my main panel. I'd settled on a particular brand so I could reuse my existing breakers. I can't get it at the big box store, at least in the size I wanted. So I called the only electrical supply chain in the area that seems to stock these and was told that unless I had an account he couldn't give pricing over the phone. So I asked if I could get an account. He said not unless I was an electrician. So I asked a few more questions, none of which he wanted to answer. After learning that it won't pass inspection unless the breakers are listed for my new panel (UL thing), even if they fit, and being unable to verify that my existing breakers are listed, I decided to switch to a different brand panel that I can get at the BORGs. I called a different supply house to get some 90A breakers that the BORGs don't stock. He was as helpful as the other guy wasn't. Among other things I can open an account with them should I choose to.
    David

The chief cause of failure in this life is giving up what you want most for what you want at the moment.
  • Uncle Cracker
    The Full Monte
    • May 2007
    • Sunshine State
    • BT3000

I feel your pain. I also feel theirs. A wholesale house is often bound by contract to their suppliers not to sell retail (at the risk of losing their distributorship). Others feel it's a betrayal of the trust placed in them by their primary customers not to undercut them. Those who "stick to their guns" come off looking like bad guys, but it's more about how they present their position. They should have tried to help you out, like maybe by referring you to an electrician who could have taken care of it for you for a small markup (or by referring you to the people that you eventually found).

Comment

• cabinetman
      Gone but not Forgotten RIP
      • Jun 2006