• Show
Clear All
  • Sam Conder
    Woodworker Once More
    • Dec 2002
    • Midway, KY
    • Delta 36-725T2

Anybody using a DIY PVR?

Adele and I eliminated our sattelite dish and so far the thing we miss the most is our PVR. I have an "extra" Pentium 4 PC lying around and I want to turn it into a PVR.

I have tried MythTV and the demo of BeyondTV but was not impressed with either. I am currently downloading LinuxMCE and it looks promising:

Has anyone else built a PVR "on the cheap"? Any guidance to offer?
    Sam Conder
    BT3Central's First Member

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." -Thomas A. Edison
  • bmyers
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 2003
    • Fishkill, NY
    • bt 3100

I've been using MythTV for about 2 years now. Until recently it was free but now you have to pay a subscription for the TV listings ($20 a year). Even my wife likes it so it passes that test.

I use it to store all the photos and movies of the family, record shows, remove commercials, transcode for playback on my cell phone.

I haven't checked out LinuxMCE but I will now. What didn't you like about MythTV? Have you tried KnoppMyth? Saves alot of time.

Bill
    "Why are there Braille codes on drive-up ATM machines?"

Comment

• Sam Conder
      Woodworker Once More
      • Dec 2002
      • Midway, KY
      • Delta 36-725T2

Originally posted by bmyers
      What didn't you like about MythTV? Have you tried KnoppMyth? Saves alot of time.
      You know... it was KnoppMyth, not MythTV.
      Sam Conder
      BT3Central's First Member

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." -Thomas A. Edison

Comment

• Ed62
        The Full Monte
        • Oct 2006
        • NW Indiana
        • BT3K

At the risk of sounding like a real dummy, is a PVR like a TIVO? If not, how is it used?

Ed
        Do you know about kickback? Ray has a good writeup here... https://www.sawdustzone.org/articles...mare-explained