• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Luckbox
    Established Member
    • Nov 2003
    • Holly Springs, NC

ANy one from North Carolina?

The LOML and I are thinking of moving to North Carolina. We are thinking of the Releigh, Durham area and was wondering if anyone has any inout in the area. Such as places to stay away from or good areas to live. We are hoping to go up to the area and visit for a few days and look around to see if we can see ourselves living there, but seeing neiter of us have spent any time there would be nice to know where to look. The reason we picked the Releigh Durham area was mainly jobs. I am a programmer and she currently works as an office administrator for a constuction company, but is studying to get more involved in teh purchasing and estimating.

Thanks for any input.
    I love lamp.
  • crokett
    The Full Monte
    • Jan 2003
    • Mebane, NC, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

I live in and work in the area you want to move to. I will give a quickie reply but email via the forum or pm me with your email addy and we can chat some more.

You don't want to live in City of Durham or Durham County. Crime rate and taxes are both higher per capita than most places in the state. Plus judging from what I see in the local papers neither is run nearly as well as surrounding counties. I live about 1/2 hr west of RTP. I get a lot more land for a lot less $$$. Plus it doubles chances for employment since I am about 30 minutes from Greensboro. However if you are used to suburbs/neighborhoods, etc Wake County (Raleigh/Cary) are probably where you want to be.

If you have kids, I'd rank Wake County schools first (mostly cause that is where the majority of the techworkers live) then Orange (where I live) and finally Durham. Durham County schools are as mismanaged as the city/county. Wake announced it is going to move 14 elementary schools to year-round next year if that is a concern for you.
    David