• Show
Clear All
  • gerti
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2003
    • Minnetonka, MN, USA.
    • BT3100 "Frankensaw"

Out of work... :-(

With fax technology going the way of the Dodo, I just found out that the Fax-over-Internet company I had been contracting for as lead developer for the last 10 years has decided to go out of business. I wish the prospect of short-term more shop time would somehow make me happier...

If anyone knows of any software developing work, preferably Mac OS X and Cocoa, but also Linux and perl, please let me know!

Gerd
  • gjbivin
    Established Member
    • Jan 2005
    • Gilbert, AZ, USA.
    • BT3100

You know linux and perl; you have more advantages than me. I've been out of work for several months now, and am having a difficult time finding anything I qualify for. I was at my last job for 12 years, which meant that the field moved 12 years further on while I basically was doing the same things I had been. Just knowing C or C++ isn't good enough any more. Everybody (at least in the Phoenix area) wants Java, linux, web development, SQL, and so on. The fact that I never got a degree is a big minus, too.

Good luck in your search! I hope you have better luck than I have.

OK, enough whining: back to making sawdust...
    Gary J. Bivin
    Gilbert, AZ

Comment

• gerti
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2003
      • Minnetonka, MN, USA.
      • BT3100 "Frankensaw"

Originally posted by gjbivin
      You know linux and perl; you have more advantages than me. I've been out of work for several months now, and am having a difficult time finding anything I qualify for. I was at my last job for 12 years, which meant that the field moved 12 years further on while I basically was doing the same things I had been. Just knowing C or C++ isn't good enough any more. Everybody (at least in the Phoenix area) wants Java, linux, web development, SQL, and so on. The fact that I never got a degree is a big minus, too.