X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • thestinker
    • Oct 2005
    • Fort Worth, TX, USA.

Ionic Air Purifier

Ok, this goes along with my ac filter question. I am thinking about picking up one of these ionic air filters, kinda like the ones at sharper immage. Who has one of these and which ones do you recomend? I was looking on the web and the ones by Orek (sp?? the vaccume guy) says his are better than the ones sold through sharper immage. Then I find one that says it will work through walls and treat 2000 sq feet. Then I find one that says going through walls is imposible. I have a chemistry degree so the process by which these things work I understand. I just don't have 1st hand exp with these things.
    Awww forget trying to fix it!!!! Lets just drink beer
  • frumper64
    Established Member
    • Feb 2004
    • Garland, Tx, USA.

Oreck ionic air purifier

We've had the Oreck for a couple of years and it is pretty good. It definitely traps a lot of dust, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it over other brands. We had to have it fixed once (under warranty) but other than that it has been reliable. I looked at the Sharper Image one before LOML bought the Oreck, but it seemed to me the Oreck, with it's fan, pulled more air through the filter which I thought to be a good thing.
    Jim
    64sedan_at_gmail.com

Comment

• DaveW
      Established Member
      • Jul 2004
      • So Cal.

I haven't tried the oreck, but the fan-powered air movement seems like a good thing if you don't mind the noise. (it's hilarious to watch the competing infomercials - Oreck bashes SharperImage for not moving the air fast enough and SharperImage bashes Oreck for being too loud, and if you want the "quiet" mode, it doesn't move any air).