Clear All
  • Hoakie
    Established Member
    • Feb 2007
    • Iowa
    • Craftsman 21829

Pimp My Shop

All,

I've been lurking on this site the last few days after I stumbled upon it while trying to decide on a TS to buy. I am an aspiring woodworker that currently has half my basement devoted to a workshop. I put it together 8 years ago as a general purpose work area while finishing the other half of my basement. Recently I've been having an itch to upgrade it into a place to do more WW projects.

After looking around, I notice several things that are no-brainer upgrades including:

#1 Upgrade my TS from a job site Makita with awful fence to "Craftsman BT3" or Rigid TS3650
    #2 Build a workbench more suitable for WW (vise, bench dogs, etc)
    #3 Improve dust collection system (currently just my shop-vac).
    #4 Invest heavily in more clamps (yes I just got off the New Yankee Workshop Tour)

My current space is around 16' x 16' main area plus around 8' x4' area where my wood/mobile tool carts are stored. After looking at some of the work you guys have done, I can't wait to improve these carts and the rest of the work area as well.

Here are some pictures of my current layout (clockwise from entrance) The pile of junk (a.k.a. mass toy grave that the kids have outgrown) will disappear this spring when we have a huge garage sale.

Any suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Thanks

Last edited by Hoakie; 02-25-2007, 12:09 PM.
    John
    To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk. ~ Edison
  • bigstick509
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2004
    • Macomb, MI, USA.
    • BT3100

To the best forums on the net.

Mike

"It's not the things you don't know that will hurt you, it's the things you think you know that ain't so." - Mark Twain

Comment

• footprintsinconc
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2006
      • Roseville (Sacramento), CA
      • BT3100

welcome!

welcome aboard! you will enjoy this community!

Comment

• Hoakie