• Show
Clear All
  • atgcpaul
    Veteran Member
    • Aug 2003
    • Maryland
    • Grizzly 1023SLX

Stationary bike stand

Way before woodworking, there was cycling. I had this long rambling backstory, but the short version... I was big into cycling after college before wife, house, and kids, and now that there's really no honey-do list and the kids are older, I've been back into it for the past 3 years. I'm more into touring/site-seeing than racing. This past summer I completed the GAP in 2 days and the C&O in 3.

When we moved here, I thought I'd be out on the bike a lot, but COVID has me staying away from the local group, and my work schedule is now more in sync with the East Coast so I can't sneak away in the mornings. The roads aren't bad, but you really need to get out with the group at 5:30am, to avoid the cars, and I just have no discipline for that.

I didn't want to lose all my fitness so I started riding on Zwift. So far this is my makeshift setup. It works but obviously it's not ideal because it's bulky, in the way, and sometimes I need that ladder for other things. I'm currently mulling over how to rejigger this to remove the ladder from the equation. The most important component is really that fan. Stay tuned.

Click image for larger version

Name:	bike.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	152.8 KB
ID:	843149
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Seems like two sawhorses can easily replace that ladder.
    I have these https://www.amazon.com/CORPORATION-8.../dp/B000VKWZX4
    and you can easily make 2x4 legs to any custom length (height) you need.
    Of course there are also hundreds of ways to make sawhorses. You don't really need more than fifty pounds load bearing here.
    Or for that matter a B&D Workmate will do the job and fold away.
    The ladder/2x4's solution you have seems to take up a huge amount of space for what it does.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA