• Show
Clear All
  • Bill in Buena Park
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2007
    • Buena Park, CA
    • CM 21829

A new thing for me

Mods - not sure of policy for something like this, please disposition appropriately.

I decided to dip my toe into setting up a Youtube channel for some of my upcoming woodturning projects. Are there any other "youtubers" on this forum?'

I'm a complete noob at this, basically using my cellphone for video, and the basic Youtube editor to kluge clips together. My first video is basically an introduction and a tour or my garage shop, so if you're interested in burning about 20 minutes, I'd welcome your feedback. I'd like to do a series of 5 minute videos, no sales pitches (although you'll hear me mention HF alot, since I have a bunch of their stuff). I don't have plans to get any fancier - no music, fancy graphics (honestly, I just don't have that skillset. ) If you think you might want to follow my journey, "please like, subscribe and comment".

Bill in Buena Park
  • capncarl
    Veteran Member
    • Jan 2007
    • Leesburg Georgia USA
    • SawStop CTS

Very nice and well done! You made is look easy. I might try it but it would take too long to clean up the shop.

Comment

• Bill in Buena Park
      Veteran Member
      • Nov 2007
      • Buena Park, CA
      • CM 21829

Thanks Cap. Hardest part was learning how the cellphone processes video, and how to put the clips together once uploaded to Youtube. I hadn't previously considered using a cellphone for video (not sure why) before I saw this clip from Marius Hornberger on a little cellphone mount for his tripod. Took me all of about 30 minutes to make mine. Its scrap plywood, with a scrap lexan face.
      Click image for larger version

Name:	Phone mount2 sm.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	267.2 KB
ID:	827024 Click image for larger version

Name:	Phone mount1 sm.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	289.5 KB
ID:	827025