X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Cochese
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 2010

The one where I build a shed

So, I'm considering building a shed for my yard equipment, including room for my new toy.

This render isn't 100% accurate, as I'm still learning about structure construction.

I was thinking 8'x8' to keep costs and material cutoffs down. My push mower would sit on a shelf above the tractor engine, and I'd have room for rakes, shovels and my cordless yard tools. Probably some room for grass food and etc as well. Door opening would be 48" wide, which should clear the 42" cutting deck okay. It would probably sit on those concrete pre-fab piers that I would sink partially in the ground. Haven't decided on a style of roof.
    Last edited by Cochese; 04-30-2014, 08:31 PM.
    I have a little blog about my shop
  • tfischer
    Veteran Member
    • Jul 2003
    • Plymouth (Minneapolis), MN, USA.
    • BT3100

Unless you really don't have the space for it, I'd really consider going larger. My shed is 10x12 (largest allowed here without a variance) and I'd still like more space. In particular, hefting the push mower up on a shelf just seems like something you're going to regret.

We built our shed in 2003. I really wanted the door on the side, not the gable end, and virtually no shed I've seen does it that way, so I bought some plans and modified them. I've been really happy with it. I just wish I would have used pressure treated plywood for the flooring - I've had to replace a spot near the door, otherwise it's held up very well.

Comment

• atgcpaul
      Veteran Member
      • Aug 2003
      • Maryland
      • Grizzly 1023SLX

Ditto on not picking up your push mower. I suppose you could rig up a bike hoist to do that if you're set on that.

I guess it also depends on how much work you want to do and how much you want to spend. I might be inclined to check out these prefab sheds at Costco.

I wish I had the space and no city restriction on adding a shed.

Comment