• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • docrowan
    • Mar 2007
    • New Albany, MS
    • BT3100

How Do I Cap A Gas Pipe?

I have a wood burning fireplace that was converted to a gas insert that I'm converting back to wood burning. I've had a chimney sweep clean it and inspect it. He removed the insert for me and capped off the fitting inside the fireplace, but he wasn't licensed and bonded in my city to remove the gas pipe. The pipe enters the ash dump from outside the house and is all plumbed with regular threaded black iron pipe. If it was water I would have no problem at all in removing the pipe and capping it off outside, but I've never worked with gas before. I hate to call a plumber out for something that will take 15 or 20 minutes, so any advice would be appreciated.

Obviously I'll need to shut off the gas at the meter, which will kill my gas water heater (the only other thing that uses gas in my house.) I'm very familiar with relighting it. Is there anything else I have to watch for?
    - Chris.
  • Ed62
    The Full Monte
    • Oct 2006
    • NW Indiana
    • BT3K

I know they make teflon tape specially for gas installations. The regular teflon tape is white, and I think for gas usage, it is yellow. Some will argue that either will work. I prefer to err on the side of safety, and use the yellow. Do not use galvanized pipe for gas. I should have added that you will want to check for leaks when you're finished. Do that by dabbing a soapy water on the threads where it could leak. If you see bubbles, it's leaking.

Ed
    Last edited by Ed62; 02-11-2009, 01:27 PM.
    Do you know about kickback? Ray has a good writeup here... https://www.sawdustzone.org/articles...mare-explained

For a kickback demonstration video http://www.metacafe.com/watch/910584...demonstration/

Comment

• master53yoda
      Established Member
      • Oct 2008
      • Spokane Washington
      • bt 3000 2 of them and a shopsmith ( but not for the tablesaw part)