• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Woodshark
    Established Member
    • May 2006
    • Atlanta

Replacing stair treads and risers?

How hard is replacing stair treads and risers?

My home is about 20 years old. When we moved in the basement was unfinished and the stairs were just paint grade pine. Many years later the downstairs is now finished but the stairs are still the same painted pine steps. I would like to install some new oak treads with white risers.

I know I can do this but I’ve never done steps before. Any hints or tips?
    sigpic
  • chopnhack
    Veteran Member
    • Oct 2006
    • Florida
    • Ryobi BT3100

Look up your local codes and make sure you adhere to them to prevent future problems. If you search this site, I believe other members have had some discussions about this, their posts may help you some. HTH
    I think in straight lines, but dream in curves

Comment

• toolguy1000
      Veteran Member
      • Mar 2009
      • westchester cnty, ny

working on that now. i built walls and rooms around the existing stairs. in retrospect, i'd have rebuilt the stairs to. however, it's tool late for that. so i'm retrofitting the existing paint grade material open stringer stairs to look like a closed stringer oak tread and painted trim staircase. i'm using this product:

it's a 5/8" solid wood product with an integrated scotia molding purchased @ lowes. HD has a similar product that includes a riser overlay, but the product is a veneer oak over mdf or plywood.