X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ctc2000
    Handtools only
    • May 2013

Seeking Table Saw Advice

I am new to wood working and I am in the market to buy a table saw. While I will be a light duty user I want something versatile and high quality. I am interested in buying a tool that could in theory last a lifetime if used lightly and properly cared for. While I realize that the goal of any tool lasting a lifetime may be unreasonable I am simply trying to make the point that I don't want a piece of junk. I plan to use the saw around the house and more times then not will be making simple cuts. However, I want a saw that gives me the option to grow into it and that has the potential to theoretically perform any conceivable table saw task. I also am very interested in the possibility of adding a router table to a saw or buying a saw that comes with one as I am very interested in router projects.

I am having trouble deciding between the Craftsman 21829 which I understand to be a Ryobi BT3100 and a more expensive saw like a Rigid R4510 or Bosch 4100-09. The trouble I am having is that the Craftsman currently goes for $599.99 and I can get it on sale currently for $512.99. However the Rigid runs $499.99 and I cen get it on sale for $449.99. The Bosch runs $599.99 and I can get on sale for $539.99.

I guess what I am trying to determine is if a Craftsman (Ryobi BT3100) is worth paying over $500 for when I could get a Rigid or Bosch for the same price. I understand that when in production the BT3100 only cost about $300. For those of you who own and swear by this saw would you pay $500 for it today?

It is also important to mention that the Craftsman 21829 for $512.99 is basically a Ryobi BT3100 plus almost everything that is included in the optional Ryobi 8 piece accessory kit (which I understand costs around $100) plus a portable, folding, stand with wheels. The Craftsman comes with everything needed to use the router table feature which is important to me.