• Show
Clear All
  • ESwindell
    Handtools only
    • Jan 2012
    • Northwood NH
    • BT3000 (I hope)

I hope to soon join the BT3000 club

Hi, I was lurking for a bit as I gathered information regarding the BT3000 saw and if it would fit my needs. I came across this saw http://maine.craigslist.org/tls/2725490415.html and I downloaded the comments by Jim Frye and contacted LCHIEN to get his answers to FAQ. What are some other/if any things that I should be on the lookout for? I am fairly handy with repairing things but what in your opinion would be an absolute deal breaker.
    A little about myself, I majored in carpentry in high school and worked in the field doing remodeling for several years before going back to school to get a forestry degree. I worked as an arborist until opening up my own locksmith business then due a work injury I am now disabled but still love to work with wood so I am coming full circle. I see some of the same names here as on the pen board that I belong to and from what I have read so far this looks to be a very similar group of caring people that are not shy about helping others out when asked.
    Eric
  • toolguy1000
    Veteran Member
    • Mar 2009
    • westchester cnty, ny

Originally posted by ESwindell
    ...... but what in your opinion would be an absolute deal breaker.......Eric
    the fact that its a bt3xxx. three things about that saw do not appeal to me. 1) it is a right tilt. 2) it is not CI, with it's inherent stability. 3) there are quite a few threads here about "shims" in what sound like several places on the saw, and missing them can cause problems setting up the saw. it just seems to be a bit too finicky, particularly the SMT.